There it was like a sign in the road. I like myself. Boo!

Good morning and a happy belated mothers day to you!

Yesterday was Mothers day and since I don’t know anyone personally who reads my post, I would like to say happy mothers day to you!  Being a mother is quite possibly the hardest job EVER.  An I mean there is no way to know that before you become a mother.  It seems hard but lots of things seem hard.  But being responsible for another human or 2 or 3 or 4 is crazy.  Literally everything is on your shoulders for I don’t know 18 plus years and even after that they grow up and then just blame you for any flaws that they have.

My day was pretty ideal.

  1. Morning run (and my feet don’t hurt anymore!  thank you cortisone shot!)
  2. Brunch with the ladies!
  3. Hanging out at the bike park and watching my family roll around
  4. Pulled pork burritos
  5. A cocktail, and wait for it, another cocktail!

On my way home from brunch, I got to thinking.  I really like who I am.  It was just like that, a sign in the road, I didn’t know it was coming.  I also ran a red light at that time so you know, it was a pretty big sign.

I’ve been doing this trail race series and found out I was 5th place in my age group. What?  That blew my mind.  I’m awesome and wasn’t even trying.  I also haven’t been running lots of long miles and tried to do it the other day and was like, what?  I ran 30 miles?  Nice work self.

Life is pretty great when you get out of your head and enjoy what is around you.  I read a sign awhile ago that has stayed with me.  “Let that shit go!”

Maybe its just the amazing weather, I don’t know.  But life seems pretty good right now.

I know I was a pretty rotten teenager some times and gave my parents a run for their sanity.  But I came out on the other side of the proverbial fire okay and ready and willing to make it.

I owe a lot of who I am today to you Mom.  You did a great job.  I love you. Happy mothers day.  You are the best.

 

One Reply to “There it was like a sign in the road. I like myself. Boo!”

Leave a Reply

