Live like its shark week!

On the way home from vacation United was showing Shark week and luckily it was free though silent because I forgot my headphones.  It struck me how majestic sharks are.  They swim so gracefully through the water, I mean all fish are graceful when they swim, I get that, but seeing them together playing and hanging out just made me think.  I wish I was a shark.  What?  That’s absurd.  But then again…

I mean what makes a shark who they are? So I created a short list of things we can all do to live like sharks, hunting has been left off.

  1. Defend yourself. Take no prisoners.
  2. Go out and take what you want.  Make it happen.
  3. Be wild and free.

What is holding you back from being happy?  What is holding you back from being your best?

No one is perfect.  We are all a work in progress.  But I think a little positive role modeling can be powerful stuff.  So I will be a role model, because we all are, its time, lets step up to the plate.

Like I said in a previous blog post. There is no joy in waiting to be happy.

Sometimes I get mired down in the what could have been.  Not that I don’t love my life but you know clearly I could have been a writer, a professional ultra runner, a baker, a blah-blah-blah.  But my life is bigger then any of those because it’s little pieces of all of them.  I want to celebrate that I am all of those plus a mom, wife, teacher, friend, feminist, and a bunch of other things too.

I am going to do a better job defending myself from myself.  Doubt beware you are not welcome here. I am going to go after what is important to me, because I have nothing to lose, only gain, and to much pride is a dangerous thing.  I am going to be fun and funny, run dirty and smelly, and put my phone down and go on more impromptu bike rides to snow cone huts with my kids.  I’m going to live like its shark week or at least it’s my shark week, and month, and life.

I’m going to kill it.

Leave a Reply

