I said meditate, not medicate.

Lets talk meditation.

Buddhist meditation (1)

That word makes me roll my eyes and fake gag.  I mean that stuff just isn’t for me.  When I went to hypno-birthing classes for my son the midwives had us write down our most relaxing special places.  It was almost too much for me.

But I persevered.

And now I use it.  Ah! Crazy hippy mediation got me!

Do I sit down in some crazy leg tangle?  Close my eyes and say om?  No.  But I use the most important pieces of that story when things get ruff or off track enough to need to refocus.  Like when I’m at work and one of my students looses it or when my kids are throwing huge fits in time out or when running just doesn’t feel good or when my husband calls and says he busted open his knee biking and needs to get stitches.  Or the more common children playing and then screaming while I am trying to get 5 more minutes of sleep.

My midwife told me to describe a place using all your senses.  How it smells, tastes, sounds, etc.  And it really helps.  It also helps that I get to go to that place and have those feelings and senses refreshed.

Cool water splashing up around my toes and ankles.  Wet send squishing up between my toes.  The feeling of the breeze blowing through my hair and the sun warming my cheeks. The smell of salt water in the air and the taste of salt water on my lips.

20170703_073039

And that view.  For miles and miles.

It sounds silly but that has helped get me through some ruff times.  It may help you to find a special relaxing place for you to go to in your mind.  You never know when you may need it.

If you need to close your eyes and say om I won’t judge you, too much.

Leave a Reply

